Congratulations to the 2015-16 Student Leadership Scholarship Recipients

Posted · Add Comment

The New Jersey Principals and Supervisors Association (NJPSA) held a luncheon on May 19 to honor 25 graduating seniors in New Jersey who have been awarded 2014-2015 Student Leadership Scholarships.

Each Student Leadership Scholarship carries a $2,000 award for the recipient’s demonstrated leadership in school activities for participation in co-curricular activities other than athletics. Winners are selected from each of the three regions of our state – north, central, and south.

Each applicant submits a one-page essay on the topic “The Importance of Student Involvement in School Activities.” The applicant must also provide a résumé indicating leadership positions they have held and their contributions to their school while in these positions. In addition, two letters of recommendation are submitted, one each from the principal and an activities advisor.

Under the direction of NJPSA Assistant Executive Director Chuck Stein, The Student Activities Committee of NJPSA reviewed all applications and selected the winners. “This year’s applications were among the most impressive we have ever seen,” said Stein. “I am always impressed by the level of dedication and commitment these students demonstrate to their chosen activities. I have no doubt that these future leaders of society will realize tremendous success, and NJPSA is proud to recognize their contributions in this way.”

The 2014-2015 Student Leadership Scholarship recipients are listed below:


Nida Ali

Ewing High School

Dr. Rodney Logan – Principal

Ewing School District

Mercer County


Nina D’Amiano

John P. Stevens High School

Ms. Gail Pawlikowski – Principal

Edison School District

Middlesex County


Michael Cappelluti

Colts Neck High School

Mr. Daniel Simon, Sr. – Principal

Freehold Regional School District

Monmouth County

Lauren Delmonaco

Metuchen High School

Mr. Bruce Peragallo – Principal

Metuchen School District

Middlesex County


Kimberly Drastal

Rumson-Fair Haven Regional High School

Dr. Tracy Handerhan – Principal

Rumson-Fair Haven Regional School District

Monmouth County


Matthew Drew

Point Pleasant Borough High School

Mr. Kurt Karcich – Principal

Point Pleasant Borough School District

Ocean County


Mary Dwyer

Wayne Valley High School

Mr. Kenneth Palczewski – Principal

Wayne School District

Passaic County


Lucas Gallo

Arthur L. Johnson High School

Mr. Richard Delmonaco – Principal

Clark School District

Union County


Charles Goodwin

Pompton Lakes High School

Mr. Vincent Przybylinski, Jr. – Principal

Pompton Lakes School District

Passaic County


Dimitri Henry

Hunterdon Central Regional High School

Ms. Suzanne Cooley – Principal

Hunterdon Central Regional School District

Hunterdon County


Michaela Hitchner

Cumberland Regional High School

Mr. Ralph Aiello – Principal

Cumberland Regional School District

Cumberland County


Eric Houlihan

Monroe Township High School

Mr. Robert Goodall – Principal

Monroe Township School District

Middlesex County


Alexandria Kulik

Middlesex County Academy for Allied Health

and Biomedical Sciences

Mr. Michael Fanelli – Principal

Middlesex County Vocational School District

Middlesex County


Drew Lacouture

Hackettstown High School

Mr. Matthew Scanlon – Principal

Hackettstown School District

Warren County


Julia McCarthy

Nutley High School

Mr. Denis Williams – Principal

Nutley School District

Essex County


Lisa Milburn

Spotswood High School

Mr. Thomas Calder – Principal

Spotswood School District

Middlesex County


Ricardo Minaya

Bergen County Technical-Paramus High School

Ms. Carole Terrizzi – Principal

Bergen County Technical School District

Bergen County


Brian Northrup

Jackson Memorial High School

Mr. Kevin DiEugenio – Principal

Jackson School District

Ocean County


Natalie Rivera

Pemberton Township High School

Ms. Ida Smith – Principal

Pemberton School District

Burlington County


Brianna Ryan

Vernon Township High School

Mr. Timothy Dunnigan – Principal

Vernon Township School District

Sussex County


Nathaniel Silberman

Voorhees High School

Mr. Ronald Peterson – Principal

N. Hunterdon-Voorhees Regional School District

Hunterdon County


Kate Volpe

Buena Regional High School

Mr. Moses White – Principal

Buena Regional School District

Atlantic County


Ethan Wagner

Biotechnology High School

Mr. Sean Meehan – Principal

Monmouth County Vocational School District

Monmouth County


Kieran Williams

John F. Kennedy Memorial High School

Mr. Michael Cilento – Principal

Woodbridge School District

Middlesex County


Margaret Ziemba

Lower Cape May Regional High School

Mr. Lawrence Ziemba – Principal

Lower Cape May Regional School District

Cape May County