Visionary Leadership Awards  |  Student Scholarships  

NJPSA annual awards programs include the NJPSA Visionary Leadership Awards, which honor school leaders in K-12 NJ schools, and the NJPSA Student Leadership Scholarship Program, which honors NJ students for demonstrated leadership in school activities and in co-curricular activities other than athletics.

NJPSA Visionary Leadership Awards

The annual NJPSA Visionary Leadership Awards program honors K-12 school leaders at the elementary, middle and secondary school levels. The award categories are:

  • Visionary Principal of the Year, Elementary Level
  • Visionary Principal of the Year, Secondary Level
  • Visionary Assistant Principal of the Year
  • Visionary Supervisor/Director of the Year

Visionary Leadership Awards 2024 Brochure

NJPSA Visionary Awards Rubric Criteria

Previous Award Winners

2024 Visionary Award Winners

NJPSA recently announced its 2024 Visionary Award Winners. Dr. Lindsay Gooditis, Principal of Franklin Township School, was named Visionary Principal of the Year Elementary Level; Dr. Neil Burti, Principal of John A. Carusi Middle School in Cherry Hill, was named Visionary Principal of the Year Secondary Level; Dr. Laura Mathieu, Assistant Principal of Janis E. Dismus Middle School in Englewood, was named Visionary Assistant Principal of the Year; and Dr. Bobbie Downs, Director of Child Study Team, Related Services, and Educational Services Unit of Burlington County Special Services School District, was named Visionary Supervisor/Director of the Year. Each will receive his/her award at the NJPSA/FEA/NJASCD Fall Conference at the Ocean Casino Resort in Atlantic City in October.

2023 Visionary Award Winners

Each winner received his/her award during the NJPSA/FEA/NJASCD Fall Conference in October at Borgata in Atlantic City.

Carlos Gramata, Jr.
Principal of Hillside Elementary School in Livingston
Visionary Principal of the Year, Elementary Level

Mindy Milavsky
Principal of Lawrence Middle School
Visionary Principal of the Year, Secondary Level

Thomas Decker
Vice Principal of Neptune Middle School
Visionary Assistant Principal of the Year

Violeta Katsikis
District Supervisor of Curriculum and Instruction for Cherry Hill Public Schools
Visionary Supervisor/Director of the Year

NJPSA Student Leadership Scholarships

Additionally each year, the NJPSA Student Leadership Scholarships program provides 25 student leadership scholarships of $2,000 each, which are awarded to graduating seniors for their demonstrated leadership in community or school activities (other than athletics). Winners are selected from each of the three regions of our state – north, central, and south. Eligibility is limited to districts that receive this application directly from NJPSA.

Student Scholarships Homepage

2022-2023 NJPSA Student Leadership Scholarship Winners

Photo of 2022-2023 Student Scholarship winners

Student County High School Principal
Aminata Kamara Middlesex Sayreville Dale Rubino
Anastacia Ibrahim Essex West Essex Caesar Diliberto
Anya Raetsch Camden Haddon Heights Karim Fisher
Apple Lin Bergen Northern Highland Joseph Occhino
Brianna Suliguin Ocean Ocean County Vocational Tech (Maritime) Alison Carroll
Christine Chen Middlesex Highland Park Michael Lassiter
Colleen Sannito Morris Hanover Thomas Callanan
Courtney Coco Monmouth Matawan Aaron Eyler
Drew Nakai Camden Cumberland Ralph Aiello
Garret Hanlon Union Cranford Mark Cantagallo
Gerard Monteiro Middlesex North Brunswick Michael Kneller
Janet Ye Monmouth Colts Neck Brian Donahue
Jennette Ziemba Cape May Lower Cape May Lawrence Ziemba
Lauren Hitchner Salem Woodstown Richard Senor
Lina Abtouche Mercer Ewing Ed Chmiel
Liyana Illyas Bergen Dumont James Wichmann
Maria Hanna Camden Pine Hill Adam Lee
Nathaniel Bulaun Ocean Central Regional Irene Marousis
Skye Muthuramalingam Burlington Northern Burlington Dr. Sally Lopez
Spencer Howard Camden Haddon Township Gary O'Brien
Yubin Lee Bergen Cresskill John Massaro


Student Scholarships Program Home Page