Ed Committees Named for 217th Legislative Session

Posted · Add Comment

While the Senate Education Committee will remain the same, some additions and changes are expected when the Assembly Education Committee returns for the 2016-2017 session!

Senate Education Committee

The Senate Committee will continue to be chaired by Senator M. Teresa Ruiz, and Vice Chaired by Senator Shirley Turner.  Members from both parties will also be returning – Senator Diane Allen, Senator Michael J. Doherty and Senator Jim Beach.

Assembly Education Committee

In comparison, several changes are coming to the Assembly Education Committee with at least one legislator not returning in light of the November election, and the addition of several new members (at least one of whom actually started the end of last session).  The committee will continue to be chaired by Assemblyman Pat Diegnan, with Assemblyman Troy Singleton continuing to serve as Vice Chair.  New additions include:  Assemblyman Robert Auth, Assemblywoman Patricia Egan Jones (was seated on the committee post the November election), and Assemblywoman Angela McKnight.  Thankfully the committee will continue to include several long term education advocates from both parties – these include:  Assemblywoman Mila M. Jasey, Assemblyman David W. Wolfe, Assemblyman Ralph Caputo, Assemblywoman Angelica M. Jimenez, Assemblyman David P. Rible, and Assemblyman Adam J. Taliaferro.