Governor Announces Nominations To State Board

Posted · Add Comment

Governor Chris Christie announced several nominations to the New Jersey State Board of Education December 6. The list includes a number of reappointments to the Board as well as several new potential appointments to the Board. Maybe the largest surprise on the list was the replacement of current Board President Mark Beidron.


  • Arcelio Aponte, of Piscataway, to succeed himself.
  • Ronald K. Butcher, of Glassboro, to succeed himself.
  • Joseph Fisicaro, of Evesham, to succeed himself.
  • Jack Fornaro, of Mansfield Township, to succeed himself.
  • Edithe Fulton, of Toms River, to succeed herself.
  • Ernest Lepore, of West New York, to succeed himself.
  • Andrew J. Mulvihill, of Andover, to succeed himself.
  • J. Peter Simon, of Harding Township, to succeed himself.

New Nominees

  • Angel Cordero, of Camden, to replace Robert P. Haney, resigned.
  • Mary Elizabeth Gazi, of Bound Brook, to replace Claire Chamberlain Eckert, resigned.
  • Robert W. Noonan, of Montclair, to replace Dorothy S. Strickland, Ph.D., resigned.
  • Sylvia Sylvia, of Ocean, to replace Ilan Plawker, deceased.
  • Nina L. Washington, of Galloway, to replace Mark W. Biedron.

About the State Board
The New Jersey State Board of Education has 13 members who are appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the New Jersey State Senate. Nominees will go before the Senate Judiciary Committee in the coming days, eventually being voted on by the full Senate. NJPSA will keep you posted as the process unfolds.

Members serve without compensation for six-year terms. By law, at least three members of the State Board must be women, and no two members may be appointed from the same county. The State Board adopts the administrative code, which sets the rules needed to implement state education law.