NJPSA Presents Leadership Scholarship Awards to 25 High School Students

Posted · Add Comment


Twenty-five high school seniors statewide earned a $2,000 Student Leadership Scholarship awarded by the New Jersey Principals and Supervisors Association during a May 20, 2014 scholarship luncheon at the NJPSA/FEA headquarters in Monroe Township. Recognized for their demonstrated leadership in school activities for participation in co-curricular activities other than athletics, winners were selected from each of the three regions of our state – north, central, and south.


Each applicant submits a one-page essay on the topic "The Importance of Student Involvement in School Activities." The applicant must also provide a résumé indicating leadership positions they have held and their contributions to their school while in these positions. In addition, two letters of recommendation are submitted, one each from the principal and an activities advisor.


Under the direction of NJPSA Assistant Executive Director Chuck Stein, The Student Activities Committee of NJPSA reviewed all applications and selected the winners. “This year’s applications were among the most inspiring we have ever seen,” said Stein. “I am always impressed by the level of dedication and commitment these students demonstrate to their chosen activities. I have no doubt that these future leaders of society will realize tremendous success, and NJPSA is proud to recognize their contributions in this way.”


Pictures of the scholars from the luncheon can be found here https://www.flickr.com/photos/njpsafea/sets/72157644352403810/



Winners are as follows:


Justin Beceiro of Clark


Rebecca Clark of Middlesex


Danielle Rutsky of Monroe


Jillian Ferguson of Milltown


Goutham Ravipati of Matawan


Ryan Stahlin of Berkeley Heights


Jenny Zhang of Clinton


Michael Thompson of Browns Mills


Caitlin Slate of High Point Regional High School


Lucille Finnegan of Washington, NJ


Connor Horton of Kinnelon


Grace Talian of Bayville


Courtney Marie Schmitt of Glen Rock


Eric Zhu of Upper Saddle River


Jennifer Foti of North Haledon


Natalie Hedden of Oak Ridge


Shelby Thornton of Wildwood


Joseph Abbate of Egg Harbor Township


Logan Pedterson of Haddon Township High School


Akhil Chakravarti of Biotechnology High School


Marshall Kramsky of Marlboro


Sabina Razak of Basking Ridge


Melanie Mayhew of Bridgeton


Danielle Wilson of Lodi


Kyle Smith of the Madison School District