NJPSA Proud to Announce New Leadership Roles for Senior Staff/Board of Directors and New NAESP Zone 2 Director

Posted · Add Comment

Following the recent retirements of Jay Doolan, Chuck Stein, and Frank Palatucci, NJPSA/FEA is proud to announce several changes to its senior staff and Board of Directors:


Donna McInerney has assumed the role of Chief Executive Officer of FEA, having previously served for nearly six years as FEA’s Director of Program Development and Design. A former high school Social Studies teacher and supervisor, she earned her doctorate from the Graduate School of Education at Rutgers University, specializing in curriculum theory and development. Over the last 15 years she has been an Adjunct Professor in the Department of Graduate Education, Leadership and Counseling at Rider University and in the Educational Administration and Secondary Education Program at The College of New Jersey.  She currently teaches in the NJ EXCEL program. Throughout the course of her career, Dr. McInerney has provided professional learning experiences on a wide variety of topics including tools for professional learning communities, the Connected Action Roadmap (CAR), research-based instructional strategies, classroom management techniques, project-based learning, differentiated instruction, curriculum integration, and cooperative learning strategies.  Her most recent work has focused on the instructional leadership skills and coherent frameworks needed to improve teacher practice, drive student achievement and ensure systemic, sustained, school improvement.


Robert Murphy is adding the role of Assistant Executive Director of NJPSA to his current role as Director of Retirement Services. Before joining the staff of NJPSA, Bob served the association as President (2011-12), as a member of the Board of Directors (2006-2012), Council member and State Coordinator for NASSP (2008-2012). He also served on a number of NJPSA committees over the years. Bob retired in October 2012 after 36 years as a public school educator. He began his career as a vocal music teacher in Piscataway and then served as the Fine Arts Supervisor, Adult School Co-Director and finally Assistant Principal at North Brunswick HS. Bob served as a middle school Principal in Middletown before finishing his career as the principal of East Brunswick HS. He was recognized in 2006 as the NASSP – NJPSA/Metlife HS Principal of the Year.



Angelina Martino Finnegan has been named Director of School Leadership Programs for FEA. Most recently, she was principal of Lake Hiawatha Elementary School and had previously served as principal of Rockaway Meadows School and Troy Hills School — all in the Parsippany-Troy Hills School District. She has served on the NJPSA Board since 2006 and was the association’s president in 2010-2011. In 2013, she was named the NJPSA Visionary Principal of the Year and NAESP National Distinguished Principal. Angelina earned a Bachelor of Arts in Education and a Master of Arts in Educational Administration from Seton Hall University. Angelina has announced her resignation as Zone 2 Director of NAESP effective July 31. In this role, she has served as a strong, vocal advocate for ensuring high-quality education for all children.


Dr. Arlene Rogo will become the Zone 2 Director of NAESP effective August 1 and complete the term vacated by Angelina Martino Finnegan through July 31, 2020. Dr. Rogo is beginning her 37th year as a New Jersey Educator. She is currently Principal of Neptune Middle School. During her 25 years in Neptune, she also served as principal of Summerfield Elementary School for 16 years and Principal of Midtown Community Elementary School for 6 years. In 2012, MCES, a Platinum LEED School became one of the first Green Ribbon Schools designated by the U.S. Department of Education. Dr. Rogo began her career in Bergen County as a teacher in middle school and high school, and then gained administrative experience as a high school grade administrator, a middle school department chairperson and K-8 curriculum supervisor, and as a K-8 vice principal. Dr. Rogo is also President of the Neptune Township Administrator’s Association and the Monmouth County Elementary/Middle School Administrators Association.


NJPSA also wishes to announce and congratulate its 2018-19 Board of Directors and Officers:


President: Heather Moran, Principal of Logan Middle School, Logan Township

President-Elect: Karen Bingert, Principal of Hillsborough High School, Hillsborough

Immediate Past-President: Ralph Aiello, Principal of Cumberland Regional High School, Seabrook

Vice President: Dr. Robin Moore, Principal of Roland Rogers Elementary School Gallaway Township

Recording Secretary: Dr. Paul Christopher, Principal of Monmouth County VSD-Class Academy, Monmouth County Vo-Tech

Treasurer: Patrick McCabe, Principal of South Amboy Middle/High School, South Amboy


2018-2019 NJPSA Board Members:


Dr. Karen Beckford-Bennett, Principal of Lovell J. Honiss School, Dumont

Dr. Kimberly Clark, Assistant Principal of Pinelands Junior Regional High School, Tuckerton

John Farinella (NASSP State Coordinator), Principal of Rahway High School, Rahway

Dr. Denise King, Principal of B. Bernice Young Elementary School, Burlington

Thomas Macagnano, Assistant Principal of Julia Barnes Elementary School, Jersey City

Dr. Damian Medina, Director of Curriculum and Instruction, Perth Amboy

Diane Pistilli, Principal of Nicolas Copernicus School, Jersey City

Fidelia Sturdivant, Principal of Wahlstrom Academy, East Orange

Dr. Michael Vinella, Principal of East Brunswick High School