Stephen Santilli Named NASSP Digital Principal of the Year

Posted · Add Comment


santilliThe New Jersey Principals and Supervisors Association is proud to announce that Stephen Santilli, principal of William Davies Middle School in Hamilton, NJ, was named by the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) as one of six 2017 Digital Principals of the Year. He will be honored at the NAESP/NASSP National Principals Conference in Philadelphia in July and will be featured on the cover of Principal Leadership magazine.

Santilli is passionate about using technology as a means of communication throughout the community, school, and globally to enhance learning and partnerships. As principal, he leads the effort to ensure that students and staff feel inspired and have access to new realms of learning. Teachers have conventional and unconventional options for professional development related to technology usage, and students are able to use social media and other online resources to personalize their education. Steve also hosted South Jersey’s first-ever ParentCamp, where educators, parents, and leaders from across the state joined together to discuss matters of education, including having a tech-savvy school. As an active member of NJPSA, he continues to share his knowledge and expertise with his colleagues by presenting at the Fall Conference, writing for Educational Viewpoints, and Tweeting to his nearly 2,400 followers.

NJPSA Executive Director Pat Wright was delighted to hear that, once again, New Jersey leaders are being recognized for excellence. “Stephen is an outstanding leader who is always on the cutting edge in terms of using technology and digital learning in school,” said Wright. “I am extremely proud that he is being recognized with this most-deserved honor for his accomplishments in improving the climate and culture of his school through technology.”

Through the generous support of Jostens, the 2018 NASSP Digital Principals of the Year will get access to the McKinsey Management Program for School Leaders (MMPSL), a dynamic and highly interactive online leadership training program. The winners will receive the full MMPSL Executive Leadership Development Program.

Also being honored as Digital Principals are Jamie Richardson, principal of LaCreole Middle School in Dallas, OR; Jethro Jones, principal of Kodiak Middle School in Kodiak, AK; David Geurin, principal of Bolivar High School in Bolivar, MO; Darren Ellwein, principal of Harrisburg South Middle School in Harrisburg, SD; and Nicholas Indeglio, Downingtown Middle School in Downingtown, PA.